WANDERING BODHI

whole. heal. holy.

Hello Taiwan, Nice To Meet You

(Source: http://www.radoja.ca/page/3)

View from Monkey Mountain (Source: http://www.radoja.ca/page/3)

I have finally arrived in Taiwan and set up home in the island’s second largest city, Kaohsiung.

I chose Kaohsiung for a number of reasons.

1. The weather. To put it simply, its HOT. I didn’t realise just how hot until I got here but I’m a Durban girl and I need my sunshine.

2. The location. It’s located down South in close proximity to the beach and mountains. Oh yes, oh yes.

3. The parks. There are beautiful parks located throughout the city.

4. The yogi community.

View from Escape 41 Restaurant at Kaohsiung beachside

View from Escape 41 Restaurant at Kaohsiung beachside

Kaohsiung sometimes gets a bad rep because of the pollution down here, but to be honest I feel like I can breathe better than up in Taichung, for example. The streets are wide and it’s more spacious. There’s also a lot more happening down here.

Yoga in the park (photo: Farrah Furtado)

Yoga in the park (photo: Farrah Furtado)

So far I’ve hiked up Monkey Mountain, ventured down to the beach, been on numerous scooter rides throughout the city, done yoga in the park, ended up in the hospital at 2am with my poorly housemate, found my favourite iced matcha latte and sushi spot, and tried the most delicious street food. I’ve also made some amazing friends. I couldn’t have done all of this without the help of my buddy Tom.

So yes, it’s good to meet you Kaohsiung.

I think I’ll stay a while.

Tessa & I in the pagoda at Lotus Lake

Tessa & I in the pagoda at Lotus Lake

4 comments on “Hello Taiwan, Nice To Meet You

  1. Tina Schell
    11/09/2013

    Love that opening shot!

  2. Gretchen Del Rio
    11/09/2013

    Sounds wonderful…….new sights, smells, sounds.

  3. Linda Heenan
    13/09/2013

    It sounds lovely darling. You will have to write a book and put all your wonderful travel experiences in it. Love you xxx

  4. tyanajones
    09/10/2013

    Wow beautiful pictures. i liked the Monkey Mountain photos.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 11/09/2013 by in Taiwan and tagged , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive new posts by email.

Join 520 other followers

FOLLOW ME ON

Follow on Bloglovin

HELLO THEREā€¦.

I'm Sam, a yogi, adventurer and eternal seeker. Welcome to my blog!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 520 other followers

