WANDERING BODHI

whole. heal. holy.

Oh-So-Yummy Dragon Fruit

photo-3

One of the things I love about living in Asia is the variety of different fruit and vegetables available.  A quick pop down to the market and you never know what you might find! The Dragon Fruit (aka Pitaya) is my latest addiction.

I love this tropical superfood because it tastes oh-so-good and is extremely nutritious.

As you can see in my pic, it’s covered in a scaly bright pink skin, which is actually thin and peels off effortlessly. The entire inside is edible and consists of white or pink sweet tasting pulp and tiny black seeds (my favorite is the pink pulp variety).

I could feel it was good for me, especially my digestion (I had proof!),  so I researched more. Here’s what I found out…

- Dragon Fruits are rich in antioxidants and contain a multitude of nutrients. What’s notable is the Vitamin C content – a whopping 9mg per 100g.

Typical nutritional value per 100g:

Nutrition Amount
Water 82.5- 83 g
Protein 0.159- 0.229 g
Fat 0.21- 0.61 g
Fiber 0.7- 0.9 g
Carotene 0.005- 0.012 mg
Calcium 6.3- 8.8 mg
Phosphorus 30.2- 36.1 mg
Iron 0.55- 0.65 mg
Vitamin B 1 0.28- 0.043 mg
Vitamin B 2 0.043- 0.045 mg
Vitamin B 3 0.297- 0.43 mg
Vitamin C 8.0- 9.0 mg
Thaiamin 0.28- 0.30 mg
Riboflavin 0.043- 0.044 mg
Niacin 1.297- 1.30 mg
Ash 0.28 g
Other 0.54- 0.68 g

(Source: www.agridept.gov.lk)

- They are high fibre superfoods, so regular consumption can help keep your bowels happy and healthy (bye-bye constipation).

- The seeds of Dragon Fruits are high in omega-3 & omega-6 fatty acids which are vital for keeping inflammation at bay and good for your cholesterol profile

- They consist of roughly 80% moisture and help keep you fuller for long thus assisting in weight-loss

- They are known to pacify Pitta dosha (to read more about doshas click here)

I usually just chop some up and eat it raw with apple as an afternoon snack.

How about adding it to a salad or in your favourite smoothie?

Yummm

3 comments on “Oh-So-Yummy Dragon Fruit

  1. Linda Heenan
    18/10/2013

    It looks delicious darling and so pretty! I can’t believe how nutritious it is. Enjoy! Love you xxx

    • sam jones
      18/10/2013

      Wish i could send you some Mom. Youll have to come visit xx

  2. shelleyhallmark
    10/11/2013

    I discovered this fruit last year and have been addicted ever since, it is oh so fabulous! No one I knew had ever tried it so I’ve only eaten the white part but after reading your blog I’m going to try the pink part too. Great post, glad to hear you love it as much as I do.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 18/10/2013 by in Whole and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive new posts by email.

Join 474 other followers

FOLLOW ME ON

Follow on Bloglovin

HELLO THERE….

I'm Sam, a yogi, adventurer and eternal seeker. Welcome to my blog!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 474 other followers

