WANDERING BODHI

whole. heal. holy.

Easy Guide to Oil Pulling

I thought I’d share a quick and easy guide to Oil Pulling as I find there is so much information out there, that it can be a little overwhelming. My previous post is more detailed with lots of links and updates on my experiences to date (view it HERE).

I’ve been Oil Pulling for the past 5 months and can definitely say it has benefited me. I’ve used sesame oil (which is recommended) and coconut oil. I would recommend starting with sesame oil (try that for about 6 weeks) and then switch to coconut for a few weeks and see how you feel. We have to remember that each one of us is different, with varying constitutions and past/current ailments, and therefore will experience different results. By nature, sesame is a more warming oil, and coconut has a cooling effect on the body.

1, 2, 3 Oil Pull Me

1. Take 1 tbsp of organic, unrefined sesame/coconut oil first thing in the morning (you can have a sip of water first if you need to).

2. Swish it around in your mouth (pull the oil through your teeth, swish around your tongue) for 20 minutes.
(NB: be careful not to swallow any of the oil as you are pulling toxins & bacteria out of your body – you don’t want to swallow them back down).

3. When done, spit the oil into the toilet and rinse mouth with warm salt water. Brush teeth.

4. Drink two big glasses of water and then you can have your tea or eat.

* It’s important to do 20 minutes (or at least 15 mins), I’ve found that 10 minutes doesn’t produce the same results.

It’s quite normal to experience a healing reaction over the first few days (headache, sore throat, tiredness, etc) – it’s just your body detoxing and releasing toxins. Just ride it through, drink lots of water, eat healthy. Some people don’t experience any healing effect. Again, we are all unique.

Try it for 30 days at least, preferably 3 months, and see if it’s something you’d like to continue.

Some benefits I’ve experienced:

- regulated my period

- greatly helped my digestion (coconut oil)

- clear skin (face)

- fresh, clean mouth with shiny teeth & healthy gums

- notably reduced tooth sensitivity (sesame oil)

- keeps my immune system strong (I don’t seem to pick up the cold/flu)

- keeps my sinuses clear

If you have any questions, I’d be happy to answer :)

7 comments on “Easy Guide to Oil Pulling

  1. lindaheenan
    22/10/2013

    Such an amazing article and so informative love. Wish I had started doing it with you when you were here! After you chatting to him about it yesterday, Rigby is now getting closer to trying it! We love you xxx

  2. Kristen
    12/03/2014

    I was wondering about how it helps to regulate your period. I’ve read that some people’s period stopped all together. If you could give me some ensight that would be great.

    • sam jones
      12/03/2014

      Hi Kristen, I have def found that it helps regulate my period. I imagine that it does this because it helps the systems of the body run more effectively, including the reproductive and hormonal systems.

      It could halt your period in the beginning because your body would be going through a healing crisis (detox) period. When this happens, some systems ‘shut down’ for a temporary period so that the body can deal with the task at hand, I.e. Detoxing.

      Once your body stabilizes, it should return and become more regular.

      I hope this helps.

      What oil are you using and how long have you been doing it?

      • Kristen
        13/03/2014

        It is very helpful. I will be starting tomorrow morning, and I bought virgin coconut oil.

      • sam jones
        13/03/2014

        Ok great, good luck!
        I hope you are using organic extra virgin coconut?

      • Kristen
        13/03/2014

        I’m using organic virgin oil. Will that be okay?

      • sam jones
        13/03/2014

        Yes that’ll be fine!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive new posts by email.

Join 520 other followers

FOLLOW ME ON

Follow on Bloglovin

HELLO THERE….

I'm Sam, a yogi, adventurer and eternal seeker. Welcome to my blog!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 520 other followers

