WANDERING BODHI

whole. heal. holy.

Organic Fare at Dry Goods Market

Follow my blog with Bloglovin
14269009077_07cd54a3e1_o

I love going to the Dry Goods Market just off Jianguo 3rd Road, it’s a real treat full of traditional fare and it’s cheap, cheap, cheap.

My Taiwanese friend introduced it to me months ago and I haven’t been back. I had some time to kill in the area this week so I took a stroll over and had a wander. I’m glad I did!

IMG_1736

There is everything from different kinds of soy sauces, vinegars, coconut milk, grains, spices, dried fruit and nuts to candy, dried mushrooms and tea, lots of tea. And you can taste!

What I found this time though was an organic store, not everything is organic but a lot is. They have organic grains like barley, millet, quinoa (red & mixed variety), oats and different kinds of rices (even organic wild rice from the US that looks delicious). They are located quite far down the alley on the right I think.

The shop selling organic fare

The shop selling organic fare

The shop assistant said that lots of foreigners come there to buy grains and of course nuts. They have a selection of nuts in the fridge (even brazil nuts) that are 100% raw, no bad stuff added. I bought a mixed nut and dried fruit pack (with figs in!) for a very reasonable $NT200 and a dried apricot pack for $NT180 – they are delicious. I also bought some pure Japanese rice wine vinegar and dried mushrooms for cooking.

IMG_1747

If you haven’t been down there yet it’s worth a trip, very centrally located near the Kaohsiung Main Train Station, but a bit further down Jianguo Road – here’s the address 0n Google Maps. It’s accessible just off Jianguo Road – you’ll see the main entrance.

IMG_1751

 

 

 

4 comments on “Organic Fare at Dry Goods Market

  1. yt
    20/06/2014

    The bag of mixed nuts looks great. Good thing they were in the fridge, though – I’m sure the humidity would ruin them since they’re unshelled.

  2. TW
    20/06/2014

    Nice! I’ll have to stop by next time I’m in the vicinities.

  3. lindaheenan
    20/06/2014

    It looks amazing love, and so much choice. Love you xxx

  4. Gretchen Del Rio
    20/06/2014

    I love shopping in these markets. So many of their things…in fact most…..are so much less expensive than in a store. The smells are also wonderful.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 20/06/2014 by in Taiwan, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive new posts by email.

Join 473 other followers

FOLLOW ME ON

Follow on Bloglovin

HELLO THERE….

I'm Sam, a yogi, adventurer and eternal seeker. Welcome to my blog!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 473 other followers

