Whole
Leave a Comment

Begging for Brussels…

Over the last few days I’ve had this insatiable desire to eat (strangely enough) Brussels sprouts. So today I finally bought some from my local green grocer and I’m glad I did. I didn’t know that these little guys are packed with so much goodness – rich in vitamins A, C, riboflavin, iron, potassium and fibre; they are part of the cabbage family and boast cancer-inhibiting and immune booster potential. I say bring on the Brussel sprouts!

I prepared a simple dinner of fish (coated in lemon juice, rock salt & black pepper, then flash-fried in a little ghee) with steamed Brussel sprouts and cauliflower. The veg were so bright and scrumptious-looking that no sauce was necessary. However, I have been reading so many inspiring whole foods and Macrobiotic books lately that I thought I’d try something new. I’m really enjoying getting creative in the kitchen; I used to be the kind of cook that had to have a recipe and had to follow every instruction down to the last drop. But nowadays I’ve been approaching cooking from a different perspective – cooking from the heart. I guess it’s as simple as asking yourself does this feel right, will this taste good or will these ingredients work well together. It’s more about feeling than exact measures, really listening to your body and what it needs. I’m having lots more fun in the kitchen and my food tastes that much better for it.

To complement the Brussle sprouts I adapted a recipe from Kristina Turmer’s best-selling Macrobiotic book “The Self-Healing Cookbook(so much more than just a cookbook).

CREAMY TOFU SAUCE:

  • Block of silken soft tofu (GM free)
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1/4 of a lemon, squeezed
  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • 3 tsp sesame seeds
  • 1 tsp creamy millet miso
  • 2 tbsp fresh herbs
I simply blended all the ingredients together and voila… a healthy, creamy sauce. Super yum.

When we begin to look at food for what it really is – a source of energy, and ourselves (also energy), we realise the inter-connection and the powerful effect that the food we choose to consume can have on our physiology as well as mental and spiritual states. And, of course, our approach to cooking (are you cooking from a place of love?) affects the outcome. It’s all connected. The power to heal or harm.


This entry was posted in: Whole
Tagged with: , , , ,

by

Hi, I'm Sam. A girl with a curious heart, a love of the East and an inherent desire to explore. I'm on a quest to learn, love and grow more. Join me.

Leave a Reply

