Heal
Comments 8

“Without You I’m Nothing”

1612737_9265478_b

It’s all too often that I hear people talk about their partners as the ones that make them complete, that fill an empty void inside them. And that literally they would be nothing without them.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m all about the love. I just wonder if people actually think about what they’re saying when they make such vivid statements as these. It makes me wonder how many relationships are based on unconditional love grounded in spirit, and how many are based purely on need, where the ego rules.

“Whatever the need is, the person who fills it becomes the source of love.” (Deepak Chopra)

It saddens me that people feel so inadequate that they need another to make them whole. Instead of searching for an external being to fulfill us, we should be reaching within and tapping into the source of everlasting love that is always present. And once realised, we are capable of loving and being loved wholly, unconditionally, on a deeper level.

“Everything in the universe is within you. Ask all from yourself.”

-Rumi

Perhaps not everyone seeks this kind of love, but I want more. I want to experience a sacred relationship with someone. I want a love that is timeless, transcendent, powerful and freeing. And I know that the journey begins within.

8 Comments

  1. Yes! Someone who shares this view with me. To me, someone should be happy with themselves before they can “rely” on another for happiness. I actually brought this up in an article but it may… May have come off a bit cynical, but that was not my intent. Thanks, Sam!

    • Exactly Vincent!! No-one or nothing else can bring us the inherent happiness that lies within. Of course they can add to it, but I don’t think should be the source of it. (ps. I was also worried this post may come across as a bit cynical :)

      • Nope, not at all! It came across honest in my opinion. Then again, I may be a bit biased haha.

Leave a Reply

