Heal, Letting Go
Comments 3

Aaah Nostalgia…

nos·tal·gia: 

A sentimentality for the past, typically for a period or place with happy personal associations.

I am busy preparing for my move to Taiwan, and part of that preparation is a major decluttering. I’ve had some boxes and bags stored at my parent’s farm for a few years now and it’s finally time to let them go.

Sometimes I feel like life is a beautiful act of learning to let go. Releasing our attachment to physical forms that weigh us down and make us heavy, releasing our attachment to people, outcomes, feelings and experiences; freeing us up for the new that life has to offer.

I’ll never forget the lightness I felt when I left South Africa to live in Japan a few years back, leaving with nothing but my backpack and a small carry bag. It was liberating!

And now as I venture out into the world again, this time I plan to be gone for a lot longer so I want to free myself up  just a little more.

learningtobefree

Whilst decluttering, I came across a box of old letters and tokens from school days. Letters from friends and first loves. It took me back to experiences that I thought I’d forgotten but were always there a part of me somehow. It reminded me of how easy it was to be happy and free and love fearlessly. Like an unwritten book, ready to experience life in whatever form was presented – without fear or regret or self-consciousness. It all seemed so much easier and lighter, and for a moment I wanted to go back.

I think what I really miss is the freedom and fun. It seems so easy to get bogged down by the seriousness of life when really it can be simple and light and fun. It lies in perspective and sometimes just a simple choice.

I decided to keep that little box of treasures to remind me of the lightness. So maybe a little nostalgia isn’t so bad after all.

 

3 Comments

  1. There is a saying here in my native Philippines that goes, “Ang hindi marunong lumingon sa pinanggalingan, ay di makakarating sa paroroonan.” It roughly translates to, “(S)he who never looks back, will never reach his/her destination.” We remember, as often as we can–sometimes to a fault. But it lets us keep our bearings on where we currently are. :-) Glad that your own little looking-back episode gave you something. :-)

Leave a Reply

