Whole
Comments 4

Roast Veg Nori Wraps

Living in Taiwan, we are super lucky that fruit and veg are so cheap and abundant here. I sure will miss that when I leave! I popped down to my local fruit and veg street market this morning and came back with 2 bags full of colourful goodies for less than $8.

I’ve been feeling like I need a health reboot, and the best way to do that is cook for yourself of course. I didn’t feel like just plain brown rice and veg, so decided to add in some nori (seaweed) for fun. I don’t need to tell you the benefits of eating seaweed, but incase you don’t know check out my previous post on 5 Essential Japanese Foods.

So this is what I did:

I  roasted up some veg, use whatever you have on-hand. I used squash, onion, red pepper, cloves of garlic and mushrooms. A splash of olive oil, balsamic vinegar, black pepper and some Himalayan rock salt and you’re good to go. I like it when the onion goes crispy and caramely when baked.. mmm mmm mmm.

IMG_4291

I then spread open a 2 sheets of nori (doubled up);  lined them with cooked brown rice which I soaked overnight; topped with the roasted veg and then added freshly diced baby cucumber, rosa tomatoes and a sprinkle of grated parmesan cheese.

Wrap it all up, and voila!

FullSizeRender_1

Enjoy:)

 

(Featured image source: https://society6.com/product/vegetables-qpe_print#1=45)

4 Comments

  1. Yes, In that part of the world, I mean in South East Asia, vegetables are abundant and inexpensive too; you certainly enjoy them fresh. Enjoy..

Leave a Reply

